The city secretary coordinates all city elections in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas. Those wishing to seek elected office should email the city secretary or call at 361.777.4513 for candidate requirements and a schedule of the election process.

City of Portland Elections

The City of Portland holds annual general elections on the May uniform election date (first Saturday in May) each year.

Section 2.01. - Composition and Term of Office.

The legislative and governing body of the city shall consist of a mayor and six (6) other council members elected by plurality from the city at large for two-year terms and shall be known as the "City Council of Portland" and hereafter referred to as the council. The mayor and two (2) council members shall be elected one year and four (4) council members shall be elected the next year, except as provided in this Charter for filling of vacancies.

Section 2.04. - Qualifications and Eligibility.

Each member of the council shall be a United States citizen, twenty-one (21) years of age or older, a qualified voter of the State of Texas, and have resided continuously in the State of Texas for twelve (12) months and in the city for twelve (12) months; provided, further, that no council member shall be otherwise ineligible for office under the laws of Texas. An affidavit of eligibility meeting the requirements of applicable state law shall be submitted at the time of filing by any person filing for the office of mayor or council member.

In determining whether a person has complied with the twelve (12) months' city residency requirement, residence in an area while the area was not part of Portland shall be treated as residence within Portland if such area was annexed by Portland less than twelve (12) months prior to the council election for which a person seeks to qualify for office.

If any member of the council shall come to not possess any of the above qualifications or be convicted of a felony or cease to reside in the city limits of Portland, the member's office shall immediately become vacant. If any member is absent from three consecutive regular meetings without explanation acceptable to a majority of the other members, the member's office shall be declared vacant at the next regular meeting of the council.

City Council Members are elected for 2 year staggered terms.

Council term expiration dates

Mayor Cathy Skurow 
 Elected 2022, Term Expires May 2024

Mayor Pro Tem John Green
 Elected 2021, Term Expires May 2023

Troy Bethel
 Elected 2021, Term Expires May 2023

Gary W. Moore
 Elected 2020, Term Expires May 2024

John G Sutton Jr.
 Elected 2021, Term Expires May 2023

Bill T. Wilson II
 Elected 2021, Term Expires May 2023

Zachary Albrecht
 Elected 2022, Term Expires May 2024